Looks can be very deceiving.

endless amanda gray

 

Endless by Amanda Gray
★★☆☆☆

I can be a book cover wh*re. Look at that cover, isn’t it just gorgeous? Stunning, in fact.. But unfortunately, it ends there.

The book seemed interesting, so I was glad that I got it on Netgalley on the read now list. It also had a very interesting beginning. It started with Jenny and some of her friends playing on the Ouija board. This causes Jenny to space out and the Ouija board gives Jenny a cryptic message.

Warning, my review may contain minor spoilers.

Jenny Kramer can see other people’s past life as she touches them. Thus, she wears gloves to avoid this. We are introduced to this ability, but we never get to see her use her powers.

Jenny’s father is an architect, who asks Jenny to help out once in a while. He brings Jenny to the Daulton house to take pictures. The Daultons want to hire Jenny’s father to flip a house. (Let me point out that an architect is supposed to design exterior of a house and inside layout. The Daultons wanted a cheap fix, and I bet employing an architect is expensive. I think a regular handyman or contractor would work in flipping houses.) As Jenny is taking pictures, she comes in the son’s room who is playing Moonlight Sonata on the piano. The tries not disturbing Ben, but she does and this causes them to get off on the wrong foot. But of course, this doesn’t last long. Jenny comes back to take more pictures and she goes to the attic and helps Ben segregate the trash upstairs. They come across a music box that plays Moonlight Sonata. It also comes with instructions to mesmerism. They do it, and they end up in the same dream.

On top of being her father’s assistant, Jenny is also painter. On the night of her exhibit, Jenny dreams of being Maria Romanov who has an illicit relationship with Nikolai. Who she of course meets up and they get all gooey eyed with each other.

Endless is not a stand-alone book. It is a start of a series. It actually reminds me of Lauren Kate’s Fallen series. Both involves soulmates, but Lauren Kate’s is an angel version, where Amanda Gray’s is a time travel one. The time travel theory was an interesting concept. That all timelines are happening simultaneously, and you just have to cross over the other side. Endless honestly wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t stunning as its cover. As usual with a book of a series, this ends in a cliffhanger, but, I do not have the compulsion to pick up the next one.


I do feel bad that I am giving this book two stars, since I didn’t really have to pay for it, but I do have to be honest. Initially, I was giving it three stars, however, as I was writing my review, I felt like I had to go for less.

I would also like to thank Netgalley for my copy.

Leave a Reply

